A modern looking score in 2018?

Have your scores reviewed by other users. Comment on old and new published scores and on publishers.
teacue

Post by teacue »

Lurking on this forum since a few months I see here is a great love for beautifull looking scores engraved in a traditional way with classic and proven fonts.
I am amazed about the knowledge shared and it helps me a lot to "see" things in a score I would have never noticed before.
I am a primarily a composer and I have to engrave my music by myself and engraving is not my profession.

I have a question which maybe is not in the main mood of the forum but I nevertherless would like to ask in the hope for some advices.

Would someone share some ideas on how could a score look like if explicitely designed to stilistically be from the 21th century and still keeping a beautifullness similar or even greater than the one found in traditional scores?
With "coming from the 21th century" I of course do not mean to initiate a semantic polemic, I just use these words to express something like modern or contemporary design vs a classical traditional design.

First which text fonts could be used?
And second and probably much more difficult, which music fonts?

I ask this because I am in the process of transcribing all my work from Finale to Dorico.
This task is in itself a lot of work and I thought why not at the same time take the opportunity to give my scores a more modern touch?

I am in no way against a traditional and classical look, I appreciate it a lot, even more since this forum helps me to better see and understand what makes a score looking good.
I am just curious on how it could be possible to leave the path of tradition and still produce good results.
I also wonder how a score could express the style of the written music.
teacuemusic (Musicals)
youtube
OCTO

Re: A modern looking score in 2018?

Post by OCTO »

Welcome to the forum!