FontForge and Finale

Music notation symbols, fonts, font sources and font creation, SmuFL.
OCTO

FontForge and Finale

Post by OCTO »

Hello.
I need to create custom glyphs for use in Finale.
This is my first attempt to dove into FontForge and create something more usable.
However, when I create an .otf font using FontForge, that font is "invisible" for Finale. The font passed installation and is found in FontBook.
What is the way to create a font usable in Finale? The font I create are usable in all other applications except Finale.
There are different encoding, export, glyph order, table, font type... How to make it visible and usable? Here are the font options, encoding, naming, exporting. Not being expert I need some expertise here! Tisimt?
Attachments
font type.png
font type.png (58.83 KiB) Viewed 10878 times
export types.png
export types.png (29.71 KiB) Viewed 10878 times
renaming.png
renaming.png (13.32 KiB) Viewed 10878 times
export options.png
export options.png (39.91 KiB) Viewed 10878 times
encoding.png
encoding.png (38.61 KiB) Viewed 10878 times
Freelance Composer. Self-Publisher.
Finale 27.3 • Sibelius 2023.5• MuseScore 4+ • Logic Pro X+ • Ableton Live 11+ • Digital Performer 10+ /// MacOS Monterey (secondary in use systems: Fedora 35, Windows 10)
John Ruggero

Re: FontForge and Finale

Post by John Ruggero »

I am probably the last person who should try to help, OCTO, but just in case:

After I made my G clef and installed it in the Font Book, I installed it in Finale by: Document Options>Clefs>Clef Designer>Character:&>Set Font: "My New Clef" and there was "My New Clef" in the list of fonts. I assume it would be done similarly for any other specific glyph. I had not created a whole music font, however, and have no idea how that would be installed. Sorry if this is all irrelevant.
M1 Mac mini (OS 12.4), Dorico, Finale 25.5, GPO 4, Affinity Publisher 2, SmartScore 64 Pro, JW Plug-ins, TG Tools, Keyboard maestro

http://www.cantilenapress.com
OCTO