SCORE Music Publishing System VS. Graphire Music Press

Recommendations concerning notation and publishing software in a non-partisan environment.
George M19

SCORE Music Publishing System VS. Graphire Music Press

Post by George M19 »

These programs are before my time and so I have no experience with them, but I have seen a lot of professionally engraved music published with SCORE; I have to say, the note-spacing looks great. The Scorlatti clefs, noteheads, and flags look great as well; don't care for the accidentals or time signatures though (the Revere font's are better imo).

I have not seen as much music published with Graphire, although it has a comparable output. I understand, however, that the Revere font developed for the program won an award.

Both programs seem to do similar things and have similar uses--i.e., high quality engraving. What are the community's thoughts and experiences with these programs? Are they still available (has anyone recently purchased one of these programs)?
odod

Re: SCORE Music Publishing System VS. Graphire Music Press

Post by odod »

My friend Will Copper is an advance SCORE user, you can reach him thru facebook
he's quite active as a composer and devoted SCORE user
SCORE and AMADEUS are amazing ancient program .. i've seen the result, yes both are good

here's the attempt of SCORE look using Sibelius
SCORE Demo_0001.png
SCORE Demo_0001.png (624.01 KiB) Viewed 19589 times
Nuendo 12, FL Studio 20, Reaper 6, Dorico, Sibelius, HOOPUS, Pianoteq 6, Ivory II, Slate, Plugin Alliance, Soundtoys, and yeah i am a gear slut

Serenade Music Engraving Service
Schonbergian

Post by Schonbergian »

To me, the SCORE treble clef stands head and shoulders above the rest of its font, which feels cold and clinical to me. But, short of hand-engraved clefs or a few computer examples (Abraham's fonts or November), that clef is probably the best I've seen.