Tips on creating a professional engraving?

Recommendations concerning notation and publishing software in a non-partisan environment.
ruaraidh

Tips on creating a professional engraving?

Post by ruaraidh »

Hi all! This is my first post here, and I'd like to start saying that this forum is awesome. :)

I'm a music student (pianist) who also studies composition and likes to arrange songs. I have been using Finale for nearly 9 years now, however I feel that no matter how I try, I can't seem to be completely satisfied with the engraving output I get.

So I recently interested myself fully in studying professional engraving techniques and recommendations. I've read here and there in this forum, however I wasn't able to find a clear list of, say, guidelines to implement in order to improve the looks of a sheet.

I'm referring to things like margins, lengths, general aesthetic, layout, fonts etc. The problem I have very often is that I hesitate when I try to make a sheet look good. "Should I make this margin bigger, how about the noteheads, is the text well aligned, and what about spacing??" I think, so I never really settle on a particular style.

I really like the Wiener Urtext engraving, I own two volumes of Haydn sonatas which in my opinion look superb. Thing is I don't know how to translate that to Finale.

As a side note, I never really payed attention to fonts per se, I just use Maestro, the Finale default. However, now I think it could be very important.

--

Long story short, could you guys give me some advice on improving general engraving and making it look less "Finale-y", please? Thanks!
Schonbergian

Re: Tips on creating a professional engraving?

Post by Schonbergian »

Maestro is not fundamentally poorly designed -- it's just extremely light and angular (and also looks extremely generic at this point)