Dorico 3 Launch

Recommendations concerning notation and publishing software in a non-partisan environment.
Post Reply
benwiggy
Posts: 253
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 19:42

Dorico 3 Launch

Post by benwiggy » 02 Sep 2019, 10:37

Dorico is holding a "live-streaming event" on Thursday 5 September at 2pm BST / 3pm CET / 9am EDT / 6am PDT, for an announcement.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5WmKauJ4OQ

Given the recent sighting of an advert for Dorico 3 on the back of UK music magazines Autumn issue, 'it's not rocket salad' to guess what it'll be.

benwiggy
Posts: 253
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 19:42

Re: Dorico 3 Launch

Post by benwiggy » 05 Sep 2019, 09:22

Highlights include automatic "Condensing" of parts in Full Score; note input of chords to multiple staves; notation for Guitar Tab, Harp pedalling, harmonics; improvements to Lyrics, Fingerings; a variety of new Playback features and capabilities; adding comments to scores; and a whole slew of productivity enhancements, notation improvements and bug fixes.

There's an awful lot to be happy about here, though expectations are high, given the bar that the team have set in the past. I expect that, as with Dorico2, this has also set the groundwork for more features in the .1 and .2 updates that will continue to impress.

https://www.scoringnotes.com/reviews/do ... the-score/

User avatar
Schneider
Posts: 76
Joined: 09 Oct 2015, 06:50
Location: Paris

Re: Dorico 3 Launch

Post by Schneider » 06 Sep 2019, 19:00

Hi benwiggy,

Two minor remarks regarding the guitar/tablature part:

Image

1. The ottavation is missing on the trebble clef (on purpose?).
2. Finger #0 is a nonsense (but fret #0 could be understandable for the tablature). Some -- not enough -- publishers use the no-finger sign (e.g. Eschig) but most of them use "0" instead -- and so do all softwares.
I think Dorico should implement the possibility of putting an open string sign instead of the "0", such as (in red):

dorico_ex.jpg
dorico_ex.jpg (51.05 KiB) Viewed 165 times

Cheers,
Pierre

PS.
www.scoringnotes.com wrote:[...]
Steinberg says that “One unique advantage that Dorico provides in this area over other notation software is that the music can be shown on a regular notation staff and in tablature at the same time, and an edit in one representation then automatically affects the other.” This is indeed true when talking about comprehensive software such as Finale, Sibelius and MuseScore. However, Guitar 7.5 Pro sports a similar feature.
[...]
LilyPond has -- always had -- this feature too. ;)
~Pierre

Post Reply