MusGlyphs: type music glyphs into text

Music notation symbols, fonts, font sources and font creation, SmuFL.
Dan Kreider

MusGlyphs: type music glyphs into text

Post by Dan Kreider »

I've created a font for typing musical symbols into text items, using glyphs from Bravura.

The goal is to use intuitive key combinations, and to space and kern the characters so they don't require extra formatting to make them look correct when mixed with text. I mostly had in mind a more efficient workflow for educators and scholars who are using musical symbols in their writing. Of course the character list is not exhaustive, and I'm aware that if there's a particular character that you need and it's missing, the font isn't much use to you... so I'm happy to add glyphs as requested.

You can download MusGlyphs here: https://github.com/dankreider/musglyphs

I appreciate the keen eyes on this forum, and I'd welcome any input you have on things that need refining. Also, I'm still new to fonts, so please let me know if there's other aspects of the font organization that could be improved. Thanks.
dankreider.com
Dan Kreider

Re: MusGlyphs: type music glyphs into text

Post by Dan Kreider »

This is actually in the wrong place… would a moderator possibly be able to move this to the font subforum? Thanks.
dankreider.com
John Ruggero

Post by John Ruggero »

Dan, thank you so much! It is a terrific piece of work, and something that I will find very helpful.

Some the taller symbols are cut off at the bottom, like the treble clef or top, like the eighth note triplet, 32nd or 64th notes at 12 pt. Does one use a smaller pt. size for MusGlyphs? 10pt for MusGlyphs within 12 pt text looks like better proportions for the other symbols as well.
M1 Mac mini (OS 12.4), Dorico, Finale 25.5, GPO 4, Affinity Publisher 2, SmartScore 64 Pro, JW Plug-ins, TG Tools, Keyboard maestro

http://www.cantilenapress.com
tisimst

Post by tisimst »