First post: Rookie learning slurs with Scriabin

Have your scores reviewed by other users. Comment on old and new published scores and on publishers.
mikkop

First post: Rookie learning slurs with Scriabin

Post by mikkop »

Hello there people!

I'm a keyboard player from Finland with professional backround in jazz/rock/tango nuevo/contemporary folk music and not so professional background with classical piano. I've been doing computer notation roughly for 14 years, but most of the time I've been writing lead sheets and simple band charts with very little or no expression markings or slurs. This year I've been picking up this new addictive hobby of trying to improve the overall look and legibility of my notation, with at least two motivators: 1. I've been teaching small sight reading groups (2-3 pianists/group, early teens) for about a year, mostly using all kinds of existing material but occasionally composing new exercises in order to focus on the individual needs of the students.
2. I have a bunch of old original material I used to write for a small ensemble (lead sheets); this summer I'm arranging some of those tunes for solo piano and I'd like to publish the sheets on my website.
Lurking on this forum for a while has been very enlightening and humbling experience, seeing how many user's attention to detail seems to be on a divine level.

Writing and adjusting slurs is something I've been struggling with. I decided to pick something I've enjoyed playing myself some years ago and trying to match the styles of some pretty looking old editions I've come across (Edition Peters, Muzyka). The piece I chose is the first prelude from Scriabin's op. 16, which gave me plenty of nice little challenges notation-wise.

All kinds of comments are very warmly welcome. The PDF can be downloaded from my proton drive:
https://drive.proton.me/urls/830RHVA8MW#andlqvTskwX9
John Ruggero

Re: First post: Rookie learning slurs with Scriabin

Post by John Ruggero »

Welcome to Notat.io!