Trying to find a balance in staff sizes

Discuss the rules of notation, standard notation practices, efficient notation practices and graphic design.
NeeraWM

Trying to find a balance in staff sizes

Post by NeeraWM »

Hello everyone,
first post here and thrilled to join the community.

While I have been engraving music for a living for 10 years, I have never understood why the suggested staff size for parts in, e.g., MOLA Guides, are so big (7-8.5mm). If we take Henle as a comparison, specifically Bach Gamba Sonata, they use 6.4mm for piano staves and 6.7 for solo staves in parts.
It may be I am struggling with my Horizontal Note Spacing options in Sibelius & Dorico but I have never been able to create a good-looking score with 7mm+ staves (Educational Music apart), assuming 9x12 or 8.5x11 or A4 paper sizes.

How are you managing this?
What is your preferred staff size and why?

Thank you very much
Fred G. Unn

Re: Trying to find a balance in staff sizes

Post by Fred G. Unn »

I typically use a 7mm (size 3) staff for single staff parts on 9.5"x12.5" paper. In my template that results in 11 staves per page from page 2 onward, but in practice once filled with music it is usually 10 or even 9. For new music that is likely to be under-rehearsed, clarity of layout is really important. There also needs to be enough space in the margins and between staves for the performer to mark any bowings, additional cues, cuts, etc. The spacing and staff size requirements for new orchestral music are really quite different than for example a solo piano piece that will likely be practiced until memorized anyway.