Flat beam question

Discuss the rules of notation, standard notation practices, efficient notation practices and graphic design.
Fred G. Unn

Flat beam question

Post by Fred G. Unn »

There was a recent thread on the Dorico forum about flat beams so I guess they were on my mind when I stumbled upon this example today while writing some patterns for a student.

Seems pretty straightforward, but the fact that the line ascends at the end winds up giving it a concave "feel," at least to me anyway. Would anyone be inclined use a flat beam here? Or am I overthinking it?

tisimst

Re: Flat beam question

Post by tisimst »

I wouldn’t use a flat beam. I’ve always been in the camp that the beam should trend (i.e., slant) with the trend of the notes. The level of slant is debatable, but I would do *something* since it gives the eyes a cue of what the notes are *generally* doing so I can anticipate it. This is very important to me when I’m sight-reading. I’m no pro, but that’s my thought on the matter. So, if I had to pick one of the images, I would very much prefer the first to the second.
Music Typeface Designer & Engraver - LilyPond | Sibelius | Finale | MuseScore | Dorico | SMuFL | Inkscape | FontForge
Fred G. Unn

Post by Fred G. Unn »

Thanks! If the last two notes of the first bar were reversed, A natural to Ab, it wouldn't have even occurred to me to change it, and if I spelled the Ab as G# then of course it would be flat as the shape is concave.

This one just sort of slipped between the cracks as my engraver-brain thinks of it one way, and performer-brain thinks of another, LOL! The ascending notes at the end of a descending (overall) line were making me question it.
tisimst

Post by tisimst »

Convex vs concave doesn't matter much to me. The group is *trending* downward, so I'd slant the beam downward, at least a little. Doesn't really matter what happens in the middle. Here's what my brain sees:
beam-group-showing-trend.png