Comparing text fonts (Operatic Score)

Have your scores reviewed by other users. Comment on old and new published scores and on publishers.
SantaKiwi

Comparing text fonts (Operatic Score)

Post by SantaKiwi »

Dear all

I am new to this (awesome!) forum and this is my debut in sharing my engraving. I am a composer currently writing an opera. I recently discovered Richard Pichaud's November2 font, which I am eagerly wanting to acquire. For now, I am engraving on Dorico using the default Bravura music font.

I am seeking some advice on which of the two text fonts I should go with (to use with either Bravura or November2 once I get it).
The first sample uses arial (I've been using this for years for its cleanliness and modern look):
Opera (arial).jpg
Opera (arial).jpg (1.41 MiB) Viewed 11403 times
The second uses centabel book (A font I recently encountered upon; I find it very elegant for a serif font, and I like the subtlety in the serifs themselves).
Opera (centabel).jpg
Opera (centabel).jpg (1.38 MiB) Viewed 11403 times
Any advice on which text fonts to go with would be greatly appreciated. I am also happy to try out any other fonts that people are willing to suggest that find a balance between the two aforementioned fonts.
Best
OCTO

Re: Comparing text fonts (Operatic Score)

Post by OCTO »

Hello. And welcome to the forum.
A very beautiful notated examples, I have enjoyed them.

I like more the first example, only because the font in another example is to much personal (stylized, curved...) that it takes to much attention. A music notation is "attentive", in my opinion, so that certain objects should have more attention-force than others (such as p or f which are stylized).
There was much discussion on text fonts in music scores. One of the discussions are on non-serif fonts. A large majority of copyists and musicians prefer serif fonts for all musical information. And they prefer the most common and simple. It is just a tradition defined by usability.