First post: Feedback on a score (typesetting, fonts, cover, etc)

Have your scores reviewed by other users. Comment on old and new published scores and on publishers.
snake_cake

First post: Feedback on a score (typesetting, fonts, cover, etc)

Post by snake_cake »

Hi!

I'd like to share the score of a piece I wrote a few months ago. I'd like feedback on the music typeset, the fonts used, and the cover.

I've read Elaine Gould's book and tried to learn some graphic design on my own, but I've never gotten feedback on any of that kind of stuff.

score: https://drive.google.com/file/d/15bKxMN ... sp=sharing

Thanks!
Sibelius/Noteperformer/Photoshop/Gimp/Inkscape

Engineer and self-taught composer.
www.albertdelaf.com
benwiggy

Re: First post: Feedback on a score (typesetting, fonts, cover, etc)

Post by benwiggy »

Welcome!

Lovely bit of work. I'd suggest that the slurs and ties are a bit thick; and some of the little ones on page 9 need adjustment, being too 'horse-shoe' shaped.
The piano brace should have some air between it and the system.

What fonts have you used? They're very nice. Bodoni for the titling and a Modern for the rest?
MalteM

Post by MalteM »

I’m not a typesetting/engraving expert but here are some details that I think could improve legibility:

1st movement
• Stem directions m. 5–11, 18–20, 31–44 (and many other), left hand: I’d prefer downward stems for the quarter notes, upward for the shorter ones; this is some kind of polyphony with the quarter notes being the lower voice. → See m. 71 for a well done example.
• Tuplet brackets m. 22, 23, 65, left hand: they need more space between each other and to the barlines.
• Presence of tuplet brackets: you probably don’t need them in m. 116–117, you definitely don’t need them in m. 118–119.
• Placement of tuplet brackets m. 65, 67, 69: That’s not optimal because the staves are very far apart. Maybe one could try to put them outside the staves (and omit them in m. 69 like in the following measures).