Am I too picky? (and I'm not that experienced, but there are limits!)

Discuss the rules of notation, standard notation practices, efficient notation practices and graphic design.
MichelRE

Am I too picky? (and I'm not that experienced, but there are limits!)

Post by MichelRE »

Twice now this week I've come across people wanting to do things while engraving classical music (in opposition to pop, jazz, or Broadway) that have just raised my hackles.

One person insisted on differentiating between a straight line glissando and a squiggly line glissando, insisting that they were two different performance techniques.

Another, intent on engraving Daphnis et Chloe, was insistent on using slash notation in the Sunrise section for the repeated string patterns, stating that it would "make things easier" for the musicians.

I don't know, it seems to me that these are very basic music notation principles, not even particularly advanced engraving issues like hanging/sitting/straddling beams.

I've seen people insist on inventing notation to make fractional dynamic changes between :piano and :me :piano , for example.

Is this simply evidence of a certain lack of musical literacy?
or am I being stupidly hard-headed?
JJP

Re: Am I too picky? (and I'm not that experienced, but there are limits!)

Post by JJP »

MichelRE wrote: 28 Feb 2023, 23:50 Is this simply evidence of a certain lack of musical literacy?
I don’t know your specific context; but in many cases, especially internet discussions, lack of literacy is often the cause.
There is no computer problem so complex that it cannot be solved by a sledge hammer.

Symbols of Sound - music preparation and consulting
John Ruggero

Post by John Ruggero »

In Arnstein's office, we saw the darnedest stuff from both inexperienced and experienced composers, and this was before the present age of computer empowerment. And just try to convince them that they are wrong!